When you create a new file, AbiWord uses standard page settings to control how your text will appear when printed. To change the page setup for the current document, select the Page setup option from the File menu; adjust the paper size, orientation and margins as appropriate.
AbiWord automatically fits text to the paper size and continues on to another page where necessary. If you want to have more control over where new pages start, you can insert your own page breaks and set page breaking options for individual paragraphs.
To define how AbiWord prints a specific paragraph,
place the cursor in the relevant paragraph, or
highlight several paragraphs, then select Indents and
Spacing and from the Format menu. Click on the Line and
Page Breaks tab.
You can select from the following:
Headers and footers are pieces of text (e.g. page numbers or a chapter title) which appear at the top and bottom of each page of a printed file. To add a header or footer, select Header or Footer from the Insert menu. Enter your text in the box and format it as desired.
To insert page numbers, the current time or date, press the Insert button and select from the options available. AbiWord automatically updates page numbering as you edit your file