Special characters.
You can insert foreign and other special characters in
your file by selecting the Special character command
from the Insert menu.
You can also insert non-printing characters which
control word wrapping on the screen and in the printed document:
- For a non-breaking space, press Shift and the
Spacebar. This will prevent a line breaking at the space.
- For a non-breaking hyphen or ``hard hyphen'', press
Ctrl with the - key. This will prevent a line
breaking at the hyphen.
You can use the Show Formatting Marks command (tap on
the View menu followed by More) to select which
non-printing characters are displayed on screen.
Bullets & symbols.
To emphasise paragraphs that are items on a list you
can precede each paragraph with a bullet.
- To add a bullet to a paragraph, tap or select the
bulletted list button from the Formatting Menu or
select Bullets and Numbering from the Format Menu.
Use the pull down menus to change the bullet format,
i.e. the size or colour of the bullet character.
Line spacing.
When you select a particular font size, AbiWord
automatically uses an appropriate line spacing to make
sure that there will always be a gap between successive
lines of text. You might sometimes wish to override
these settings, e.g. in a paragraph with different
sizes of text.
- To set line spacing: select Indents and Spacing from
the Format menu and enter a point size and one option
from the pull down menu e.g. double line spacing.
- To insert extra blank space between paragraphs: enter
point sizes for the "Space Before" and "Space After".
|
« Previous |
INDEX |
Next » |