Moving around in the working area.
A Gnumeric Workbook may contain more than one Worksheet
which the user can move between by tapping the
appropriate Sheet tab below the Cell Grid. These will
initially be labelled as Sheet1, Sheet2 and Sheet3.
Worksheets can also be:
- Named or renamed by double tapping on a Worksheet tab.
- Removed and duplicated by selecting Sheet from the
Edit Menu or by tapping and holding the stylus over
the tab to reveal the Manage Sheets menu.
The Cell Grid Area
Information is displayed in cells on a worksheet. Cells
are referred to by their position in the grid of
columns and rows, e.g. D3 refers to the cell in column
D and row 3.
Moving Around the Cell Grid
To enter information in a cell, tap on that cell or
type your information in the Data Entry Area. The
selected cell is marked by a black border. You can use
the scrollbars or the arrow keys to move to other areas
of the Worksheet. Tab selects the next cell in the row.
Enter selects the next cell in the column. Select
Search from the Edit Menu to move to a cell whose
content is known or select the Go to cell option from
the Edit Menu for transfer to a specific cell.
Note: You can alter the number of cells displayed by
using the zoom commands, or by setting the zoom level
using the command on the View menu.
Highlighting a group of cells, a column or row is also possible:
- To highlight more than one cell: drag the stylus from
the first cell in the block to cover the desired
cells, or hold down Shift and use the arrow keys.
- To highlight cells which are not adjacent to each
other on the cell grid, press Ctrl and make the
selection with the stylus.
- To highlight a whole column or a whole row: tap the
shaded column or row heading, e.g. C or 2.
- To highlight the entire worksheet: hold down Ctrl and
press A.
Customising the Cell Grid
You can change the width of columns and the height of
rows to suit the information contained in them by
selecting the Column or Row option from the Format menu.
- To freeze panes on the worksheet so that the selected
part of the sheet remains static in relation to the
other parts, highlight the information you wish to
freeze in the rows and columns and select Freeze
panes.
Note: If you enter more text than can be displayed in
the current cell, the information will run over into
the next column if that column is empty, so you may
want to adjust the column width. If you enter a number
that's too long for the cell, the number will be
represented in scientific notation e.g.
|
« Previous |
INDEX |
Next » |